Too Young To Be Lazy

Image

 

Where do you see yourself in 5, 10, or even 20 years from now? I would be willing to wager that the top answers would deal with career, relationship, and location. This is the topic I am going to address tonight as someone recently made a very astute comment during our conversation. “We’re Too Young To Be Lazy” was a response when I mentioned that I admired this persons work tenacity. Which got me thinking about how our views on the future are muddled by an age old idea that with age comes wisdom. While wisdom truly does come with age, its how we forge that wisdom as young adults that prepares us for the years ahead, and this is what I feel is left out of that saying. All throughout my youth I was told, “You have plenty of time to worry about the future.” This coming from parents, teachers, and even my own friends. I am not sure what the exact age when I became an actual adult, but I do know that it was in college. We are told our whole lives that there is always more time, but then you look back and 10 years has flown by faster than last week. Therefore, if time flies, then we should take advantage of our youth. As young adults we have more energy, more room to learn, and experience is not something we can put on a resume. Instead of waiting for the future to be better, we should be “Too Young To Be Lazy,” and use what we DO have at this time to improve the future. Waiting around will only create regrets that we did not achieve what we had hoped to in those 5, 10 and 20 years. Go to work tomorrow, put in a full 8 hours, show your boss or your supervisor that you are after something in life. Take the harder path and I promise you that your life will be all the better for it. At the end of the day, it is better to have worked very hard at something and have failed, than to not have tried it at all. No regrets, not ever. 

 

Credit: AS

Leave a Reply

